Idols win on the Chart Awards for the Billboard Japan Music Awards

Billboard has just announced the winners of Chart Awards for the Billboard Japan Music Awards. The actual Artist Awards won’t be announced until the Billboard Japan Music Awards are held on February 6th. And since this is an idol blog, I will only be sharing the categories where idol groups have won an award.

Billboard JAPAN Hot 100 of the Year 2010:

1. Troublemaker – Arashi
2. Monster – Arashi
3. Heavy Rotation – AKB48
4. Love Rainbow – Arashi
5. Dear Snow – Arashi
6. Hatenai Sora – Arashi
8. This is love – SMAP
9. To be free – Arashi
10. Hontou wa Kowai Ai to Romance – Kuwata Keisuke

Billboard Japan Album of the Year 2010:

1. Ai Subeki Mirai e – EXILE
2. Boku no Miteiru Fukei – Arashi
3. to LOVE – Nishino Kana
4. Ikimonobakari~Members’ BEST Selection~ – Ikimonogakari
6. Hajimari no Uta – Ikimonogakari
7. PAST FUTURE – Amuro Namie
8. Imamade no A-men, B-men desuto!? – GReeeeN
9. 5years – Kimura Kaela
10. MAGIC – B’z

Billboard JAPAN Hot 100 Singles Sales of the Year 2010:

1. Troublemaker – Arashi
2. Monster – Arashi
3. Love Rainbow – Arashi
4. Hatenai Sora – Arashi
5. Dear Snow – Arashi
6. To be free – Arashi
7. Heavy Rotation – AKB48
9. Love yourself~Kimiga Kirai na Kimi ga Suki~ – KAT-TUN
10. Beginner – AKB48

Arashi seems to dominate all the singles charts, as expected. Arashi is up there 13 times. Despite how well Begiiner, Heavy Rotation, and Ponytail to Shushu did AKB48 is only up there 3 times. Which honestly doesn’t make sense to me. AKB48’s Beginner outsold Troublemaker by almost 300k. I don’t understand what Billboard is basing the sales off of.
I also can’t believe Arashi didn’t get to number 1 on the album charts.

Billboard Japan Music Awards nominees

The nominees for the Billboard Music Japan awards were announced. And of course idol groups were no strangers to the list. In total 11 idol groups were selected (Well actually more. But I only count the groups I actually care about. XD) Of course a majority of them are Johnny’s. But the 11 are as follows: Arashi, AKB48, NYC, KAT-TUN, Kanjani8, SMAP, Team Dragon from AKB48, NEWS, Hey!Say!JUMP, Yamashita Tomohisa, and LANDS.

But don’t hold your breath for the results anytime soon. The awards don’t even take place until February 6, 2011.